My favorite meal is breakfast, and my favorite breakfast food is a pancake.

It probably all started with my dad making my brother and I pancakes on the weekends. His recipe centered around this infamous blue bag, resident of American pantries nationwide. These pancakes were massive and cooked in lots of butter. Aaron and I would drown the pancakes in this before scampering off to watch Saturday morning cartoons. We also were treated to blue bag pancakes while camping, although with slight alterations: the pancakes would be cooked over a fire and, as a frying agent, Crisco would sub for the butter. The blue bag contents would also be used to coat Arctic grayling bodies, descaled, decapitated, and gutted, before frying in more Crisco.

While these remain my earliest pancake memories, my ingredient choices have shifted. Dramatically. Today, for instance, I made pancakes with flax, peanut butter, coconut milk, and oat flour. The maple syrup came from trees! They were good; I had made them before and liked the recipe enough to keep experimenting.

However, although I’m enjoying my enlightened/high vibrational ingredients,  I really do miss those absolutely perfect, fluffy, delicious blue bag pancakes. How can I combine the best of both worlds?

Is it time to get deep and extrapolate on honoring your past while embracing the present, accepting the old while welcoming the new, incorporating your sum of experience into the eternal now?

I searched “perfect pancakes”. I found this recipe. I mean, it has white flour, and rBGH animal products, and she uses canola oil spray for the griddle, but I think it’s worth a shot. I think I’d like to start with the basics before bringing my personal, working recipe up to snuff. I want to bring the old and new together into a fool-proof, satisfying pancake recipe sure to touch on my personal reminiscent memories while still living up to my admittedly lofty food ideals.

Similar to what I said in my perfect chocolate chip cookie post years ago, The Triple C, eating pancakes is good for women, because it makes them happy. And it’s a great breakfast before kundalini yoga. Good for the shakti.

Leave a Reply

