I feel lately as if I’ve come to an important crossroads in my life. More like a dizzying maze than a simple crossroads, actually, as I see many options and possibilities spread before me. I found a simple sort of solace in these quotes of Colette, one of France’s most famous female writers, breaker of gender and social barriers, and a model of unashamed assertions of who she was and how she thought about the world. Enjoy her words and your Sunday evening.

On this narrow planet we only have the choice between two worlds. One of them tempts us – ah! What a dream to live in that! – the other stifles us at the first breath.

Total absence of humor renders life impossible.

What a wonderful life I’ve had! I only wish I’d realized it sooner.

Leave a Reply

